The recipe for January 27th for Tuesdays with Dorie is Brown-Butter-and-Vanilla-Bean Weekend Cake from Dorie‘s newest cookbook, Baking Chez Moi. I just got the book the other day and this is the first recipe I have made from it.

I’m using French ingredients with an American recipe. Here are the ingredients I used. I’m wondering if my cake puffed up as much as it should have. I’m wondering if all baking powder is the same (regardless of whether it is French or American). Or maybe I need a different type of flour.

photo of the different ingredients I used for my recipeI thought the cake came out great, but perhaps more dense and less puffy than I would have liked. Like Dorie says, it is even better the next day. I wrapped it in silver paper and my hubby and I toasted it the next day,…yummers! My husband has eaten it 2 morning is a row,…which is high praise!

photo of my cake on a long plate, partially slicedThe recipe was fun to make! I loved making the beurre noisette, which I had never done before. I also appreciated that I could make the whole recipe by hand (which works for me since I don’t have a stand mixer). The recipe was easy to make. Mine baked for exactly 65 minutes. I tented the top just a little before the 30 minute mark. I substituted Madera for the Rum. I used vanilla extract rather than vanilla bean (just being thrifty).

I would make this again! I think this would be a great recipe to make when you have guests staying over. Just pop slices into the toaster the next morning,…heavenly!

photo of 2 pieces of toasted cake, one with a couple bites taken out of it

