Flans Ricotta Paremesan et Piment

from Le Grand Livre Marabout de la Cuisine Facile 900 Recettes by MaraboutChef

Wow! I loved this recipe! So simple and perfect! This is a French recipe from a cookbook I picked up at our local supermarket. This is my first recipe from it.

My husband and I had 10 people (2 children) for dinner and decided on an Italian theme. We bought some incredible truffle pasta and my husband baked fresh sausage from the Italian store. To have a vegetarian option (for myself and one other person), I decided to make these little babies. Of course, I had no idea that I wouldn’t be able to find Ricotta cheese at the supermarket. Thank goodness for the Italian speciality shop!

I have to say, they were truly perfect. Yes, perfect.

You can make them the day before and then just take them out of the fridge and allow them to come up to room temperature when you are ready to serve them.

2 photos layout showing entre and appetizer flans

Here is my adapted recipe–

Ingredients:

  • 20 grams of fresh mixed herbs, such as basil, persil or oregano. I used basil and persil. I couldn’t find fresh oregano at the market.
  • 2 long pieces of red pepper from a jar. These peppers are called “piments rouges” in France. I got a jar of them. They are very, very mild.
  • 1 teaspoon salt.
  • 40 grams finely grated Parmesan cheese.
  • 800 grams Ricotta cheese.
  • 2 eggs.
  • 1 teaspoon of lemon zest.

This recipe is supposed to be for 6 people. BUT, let me tell you, I had a lot of the Ricotta mixture left over! I froze 2 containers full. If you want to make this for more than 6 people, you will have enough of the cheese mixture. So, I’d say if you want to make enough for 12 servings, make an extra, separate batch of the herb/Parmesan and just use that to fill up 6 more muffin tin bottoms. (The reason I would make a separate batch of the herbs/Parmesan is because if you double it and add it to the wet mixture, it could come out too herb-y).

What You Need To Make This Recipe: You need a muffin tin to make these in. I used a silicone “tin” with 6 muffin slots. I put it on a cookie sheet for ease of getting it in and out of the oven. You’ll also need a couple bowls, a cookie sheet, parchment paper, fork, spoon, knife, and grater for the lemon zest. I used extra salt, added pepper and piment douce.

photo of peppers in jar and ground pepper spice

Step 1: The first thing you need to do is chop up your herbs and a couple pieces of pepper, and mix with salt. Next spread your mixture on a piece of parchment paper and bake on a cookie sheet in a 120 Celsius (250 Fahrenheit) oven for about 20 minutes. You are actually creating dried herbs! How cool is that? (Now, I suppose you could do this with store-bought dried herbs, but I think this is a lot of fun and I’m guessing better). When your herbs come out of the oven, if they don’t seem fine enough, just chop them up some more (yes, that is what I had to do,…because I didn’t exactly understand the term “ciselees”).

Step 2: Next take your baked/dried mixture and add the Parmesan to that and mix. Put 1 Tablespoon of the mixture into each muffin tin.

layout with 3 photos. 1 show chopped herbs on parchment. 2nd shows dried herbs. 3rd shows filled muffin tin

Step 3: Change your oven temperature to 180 Celsius (350 Fahrenheit). In a bowl, mix the Ricotta, the eggs, the lemon zest, and the leftover herb/Parmesan mixture. You may want to add seasoning. I did! I added more salt, pepper and piment douce (mild ground red pepper). I think you could add a touch of Hungarian Paprika if you wanted.

Step 4: Spoon your wet mixture into your muffin tin cups, right over the dried herb/Parmesan mixture. I did not fill my muffin tins; I filled them about ¾ full. Bake for 20 minutes. Remove from the oven and let sit for 15 minutes in their mold. Then, carefully unmold them and turn each little cutie upside down (so the dried herb/Parmesan mixture is on the top). Refridgerate once done. Serve at room temperature. (I have to admit I also ate one warm and it was super yummy, so that could be another serving option).

Extra Hints:

Don’t panic if you have funky edges. It is really easy to trim them with a knife. Don’t worry.

If you want to decorate (my husband’s idea) a bit, you can cut some of the peppers up and put on top.

You can serve each person a full round Flan, or you can quarter each one and serve as an appetizer.

flan ratings

